Current Membership, Organizational Governance and Accountability Structure


Council’s member Churches now total 24, affiliate or associate memberships (Para Church organizations and Churches) are 8. 

Governance Structure

CCSL is governed by an Executive Committee composed of 24 members (Heads of Churches of the member Communions of CCSL) and meets quarterly.  The Executive Committee is served by one Committee – the Standing Committee.  The Standing Committee of the Executive Committee has 7 members (the President, 1st, 2nd  Vice presidents of the Executive Committee, The Chairman of the Board of Trustees, the Treasure and 2 Ex-officio members) and provides direct oversight on behalf of the Executive Committee.    

Administrative Structure

Council staff is spread between the 1.) Human Rights and Social Services Department,  2.)  Ecumenical Relationships Department, 3.)  Administration and Finance Department and 4.) Development Department and 5.) The Secretariat

Each Department’s Advisory Board of Directors (6-8 members) is tasked with monitoring and evaluation of programs under their oversight.

The General Secretary (GS) is the Head of the Secretariat and CCSL’s Departments, supervises all Departments and is directly responsible to the Executive Committee.  The Development Department handles programs related to Food Security and Youth Empowerment.  The Human Rights and Social Services Department’s programs seek to promote protect the human rights and dignity of all and the most vulnerable (women and children). The Ecumenical Relationships Department focuses on promoting access to religious and secular educational opportunities, promoting interfaith relationships, values education and peace building activities.  The Finance Department provides financial oversight management for and all programs.

Program coverage is nationwide due to the location of Member Churches and collaborative relationships with our interfaith partners and government ministries